‘Independent Men’ in a fight for council seats

‘Independent Men’ in a fight for council seats

SCITUATE – With 20 people declaring their intention to run for seats on the Town Council, the race in Scituate appears to be aimed toward ousting the so-called four “Independent Men” who were elected in 2016.

David Campbell, chairman of the Scituate Republican Party, told The Valley Breeze & Observer that Republicans have every intention of retaking control of the council in the fall election

All seven at-large Town Council seats are up for grabs, with all incumbent members seeking re-election for another two-year term. Town Council President John Mahoney, Vice President Michael Payette, Scott Amaral and Nicholas Izzi, the Independent Men, will all seek to keep their council positions. Prior to their election two years ago, the Town Council was a Republican majority council.

Campbell handed in a list of 17 endorsed candidates for various positions in town. Endorsed by the Republican Town Committee for Town Council are incumbents Charles Collins, David D’Agostino and Brenda Frederickson, as well as challengers James Brady, Abbie Groves, Timothy McCormick, and Gary Grande. Seeking election to the council but not endorsed are Republicans Meredyth Flynn, Brian Grossguth, Tammy Pelletier, Brian Venditelli, and Stacy Vezina-Wortman.

There are no Democrats currently on the Town Council, but three candidates endorsed by the party are running for election: Debra Archetto, James Poccia, and Kimberly Smith. Thomas Galligan is running as an independent for the council as well.

After the mid-term resignation of former Sen. Nicholas Kettle, a Republican, from the District 21 seat due to alleged extortion and voyeurism charges, four candidates have declared for the seat. Gordon Rogers received the Republican endorsement to run, and Democrat James Safford is endorsed by his party for the seat as well. Julie Lamin is also running as a Republican in the race. Independent Michael Fine is also a candidate. Pamela Carosi, a Democrat, withdrew from the race.

Rep. Robert Quattrocchi, Republican, faces opposition in District 41 from endorsed Democratic challenger Michael Steiner.

Three of the five School Committee seats, belonging to Brian LaPlante, Coleen Pendergast and June Guglielmi are up for election this year. Only Democrat Pendergast is seeking another four-year term.

On the Republican ticket for School Committee are allies Kirk Loiselle, Erika McCormick, and Mary Manning-Morse. McCormick and Manning-Morse both work in the school district, and said they will use their knowledge to help teachers and parent relationships if elected. Endorsed Democrats running for the position are Michael Marcello and Kristen Polseno.

Independent Joseph Maggicomo will also run for a seat on the School Committee.

Other positions on the Republican ticket include incumbents David D’Agostino as town moderator, Bradford Dexter as town sergeant, Republicans Rita LaDuke and Theodore Richard III and Democrat Patricia Patterson for the Board of Assessment Review, Republican Theodore Przybyla and Democrat Shawn Scott for town treasurer, and Republican Joseph Steiner III and Democrat Neal Drobnis for director of public welfare.

Town Clerk Margaret Long, a Democrat, is facing a challenge from Republican Theresa Yeaw, both endorsed by their parties.