Foster and Glocester candidates file for office

Foster and Glocester candidates file for office

FOSTER/GLOCESTER – Democrat Lauren Niedel-Gresh of Chepachet is running against incumbent Rep. Michael Chippendale for the House District 40 seat this November.

Representing District 40, which includes Glocester, Foster and Coventry, Chippendale, a Republican, is running for re-election after eight years in office.

Chippendale, a Foster resident, absorbed some criticism earlier this year after calling a Parkland, Fla., high school shooting survivor and activist a “dummy” in a tweet, but he later apologized, calling the comment “inappropriate.”

Niedel-Gresh said in a May 1 Providence Journal opinion letter in response to his tweet that constituents “deserve better.”

Three Burrillville residents will campaign for the District 47 seat representing Burrillville and Glocester. Incumbent Cale Keable (Democrat) will run against Burrillville Town Council member David Place (Republican) and Russell Jennings (Democrat).

After stepping out of the gubernatorial race to back Democratic candidate Matt Brown, Mapleville resident Paul Roselli (Democrat) said he would campaign for the District 23 seat left vacant by Sen. Paul Fogarty, who is not seeking re-election.

Roselli will face three other candidates, including Jessica de la Cruz (Republican), Kevin Heitke (Democrat), and John Pacheco III (Republican). The District 23 seat, held by Fogarty since 1998, is shared between Glocester, Burrillville and North Smithfield. No Glocester residents are running for the seat.

Vacant since February when former Sen. Nicholas Kettle resigned due to extortion and voyeurism allegations, the Senate District 21 seat, representing Foster, Scituate, Coventry and West Greenwich, had five candidates declare their intent to run.

The Valley Breeze reported on March 1 that Foster Town Councilor Gordon Rogers (Republican) declared his intent to run for the Senate seat. Though at the time he did not anticipate a primary, Republican candidate Julie Lamin will also campaign for the seat. The GOP endorses Rogers. There will be no Democratic primary for James Safford as opponent Pamela Carosi withdrew from the race. Independent Michael Fine also declared his candidacy for the Senate seat.

In Glocester, all five at-large Town Council seats are up for re-election, with only Council Vice President Edward Burlingame not seeking re-election. The three Republican incumbents, Patricia Jean Henry, George O. Steere Jr., and Walter M. O. Steere III, as well as independent William Reichert, are seeking re-election.

Two additional Republicans, Michael DeGrange and Julian Forgue, will join two independents, Michelle Allen and William Worthy, and one Democrat, Linda Nichols, for the Town Council seats.

Incumbents for Glocester town clerk, town sergeant, and director of Human Services, Republicans Jean Fecteau, Kevin Walsh, and Judith Branch, respectively, will run unopposed.

Only three out of five members of the Foster Town Council are seeking re-election this term: Council President Denise DiFranco (Republican), Cheryl Hawes (Democrat), and Christie Stone (Republican).

Three Democrats – Joseph Cardillo, Joseph Carey, and Gail Lawson – and three Republicans – Lisa Johnston, Robert Moreau, and Heidi Rogers, who is council member Gordon Rogers’ wife – declared their candidacy for the Town Council as well as one independent, Marvin Nadiger Jr.

The candidates seeking election to the Foster School Committee are incumbents Brendan Mara, Shelley Pezza, and Kathleen Swanson.

Other contended elections in Foster include town sergeant, where Michael Coggeshall, (Democrat) and Erasmo Torres (Republican) are both running.