Nine new inductees for Smithfield Heritage Hall of Fame

Nine new inductees for Smithfield Heritage Hall of Fame

SMITHFIELD – Smithfield residents who brought prominence to the town and are distinguished for their contributions to the history, heritage, and betterment of the community will be honored in a 10th Smithfield Heritage Hall of Fame induction ceremony tonight, Nov. 7.

Nine residents will be added to the Hall of Fame this year, including: Robert Buonaccorsi, S. Jean Cerroni, Charlene Winfield Capuano, Joseph DeAngelis, the late Donald Mercier, Steven O’Donnell, the late Saverio “Sammy” Serapiglia, John Tassoni Jr., and Anthony Torregrossa.

Inductees will receive a citation from the Town Council, State Senate and House of Representatives and their name on the Hall of Fame plaque at the senior center.

Karen Armstrong, chairwoman of the Smithfield Heritage Hall of Fame, said the induction ceremony will also honor two members from the 16-member committee Former Smithfield High School Principal Robert Salisbury and former Town Councilor Thomas Robitaille will be remembered for being dedicated to the town.

“It was difficult to lose two members of our committee. One of them (Salisbury) a founder and one of the only original members we had left,” Armstrong said.

Armstrong said the ceremony, last held in 2016, occurs every three-to-four years to allow the community time to nominate candidates and for the committee to make selections.

This year, the committee selected the largest number of people to ever be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Usually, the committee selects approximately six or seven inductees, but will enshrine nine this year.

“We read the nominations, and then they voted, and nine came from it,” Armstrong said.

With nomination numbers getting high, Armstrong urged the committee to hold another ceremony this year. She said some nominations sit for a couple of years before another ceremony is held.

“Time flies by, and next thing you know, it’s been almost three years since the last one,” she said.

Started in 1994, the Town Council-appointed committee began with a mission recognize distinguished individuals who brought credit to the town and made contributions to the betterment of the community and the quality of life.

“It’s townspeople picking townspeople,” Armstrong said. “We look at what they did and how it affected the community.”

Forty-nine Smithfield residents have been induted to the Hall of Fame so far. Familiar names such as Officer Norman Vezina, Mary Mowry, the Jaswell family, John Emin, and many more are included

The Heritage Hall of Fame 10th Induction Ceremony will be held at the Smithfield Senior Center, 1 William J. Hawkins Jr. Trail, starting at 7 p.m. tonight, Nov. 7.

“It’s going to be a very special night here,” Armstrong said.