Lincoln’s election picture

Lincoln’s election picture

LINCOLN – With the deadline to declare candidacy in the 2020 elections looming last Wednesday evening, June 23, Lincoln’s 2020 election season was beginning to take shape.

By then, news began spreading on social media that District 46 Representative John “Jack” Lyle Jr., a Republican, had filed his declaration for candidacy as an independent.

Lyle told The Breeze that he feels, as Ronald Reagan once said, “that my party has left me,” and that he is committed to working with people on “both sides of the aisle” as an independent to continue advocating for his constituents.

While Lyle leaves behind the Republican party, Democrat-turned-independent John Cullen joins its ranks.

Cullen announced his intent to run for Lyle’s District 46 seat, backed by members of the Republican Town Committee seeking a more conservative candidate.

In another twist, former Rep. Mary Ann Shallcross-Smith, a Democrat, also pulled papers to run for District 46, turning the race a jumbled repeat of 2018, when then-Republican Lyle earned 47 percent of the vote, Shallcross-Smith won 43.5 percent and then-independent Cullen earned 9.4 percent.

Incumbent Republican Sen. Thomas Paolino is running for re-election in District 17, where Democrat John Douglas Barr II has pulled papers to run against him in November’s general election.

On the town races, Town Council President Keith Macksoud, District 3, faces early opposition from two candidates: Dean Lees, a former council president Democrat, and Republican Frank Salvatore Spezzano.

Robert Leahy Jr. filed papers declaring his intent to run for the council in District 4, a seat currently held by Pamela Azar, the only Democrat on Lincoln’s Town Council.

All of the remaining councilors, independents Arthur Russo and Bruce Ogni, and Republican Ken Pichette, are running unopposed.

There is also some potential for movement on Lincoln’s School Committee.

Current members Joseph Goho and John Picozzi are running for the district’s two at-large seats. Goho currently serves at-large alongside Julie Zito.

Zito has announced that she is not seeking re-election this year after 16 years on the school board, but said she would continue to serve as co-chair of the Lincoln High School Building Committee until the project is complete.

Picozzi, who represents District 2, will run for the at-large seat because he is moving out of Lonsdale. Newcomer Steven Carvalho declared his candidacy for District 2.

Mary Anne Roll, who represents District 4, is running unopposed.

The remaining candidates who pulled papers in Lincoln are:

Julie A. LaBreche, independent, District 4, and Eric Fox, Democrat, District 2, for Water Commission; incumbent Sen. Ryan Pearson, Democrat, Senate District 19; Rep. Gregory Costantino, Democrat, House District 44, and Mia Ackerman, Democrat, House District 45

Candidates must return their nomination papers with signatures of support by Friday, July 10. The deadline to withdraw for local office is July 13 and July 17 for state offices.

Party primaries are Sept. 8 ahead of the general election on Nov. 3.