Candidates collecting signatures to run in Glocester

Candidates collecting signatures to run in Glocester

GLOCESTER – At least two new faces are guaranteed on the Glocester Town Council next year as only three of the five incumbents are seeking re-election to another two-year term.

Seven total candidates are running for the five-member council, including four Republicans and three independents. Candidates need to return nomination papers with qualified signatures by July 10 to get their names on the ballot.

Incumbents Walter M. O. Steere III, Republican, Julian Forgue, Republican, and independent William Reichert will take a shot at another term on the council.

Forgue began his first term on the council last year, joining four incumbents. Steere was a member of the Glocester Planning Board from 2004 to 2008, the Glocester Land Trust from 2005 to 2008, and has been on the council since 2008.

Reichert was on the council from 1998 to 2010, returning in 2012, where he was re-elected three times.

Two other independents are joining the race, including David LaPlante and Michelle Allen. Allen ran for council last year and came in tied for last among nine candidates, still receiving 9.9 percent of the vote.

Republicans Stephen Arnold and William Worthy will all take a run at council with party endorsements in hand. Worthy tied with Allen in 2018 while running as an independent.

Republican Michael Chippendale will defend his House District 40 seat again this year after defeating opponent Lauren Niedel-Gresh, a Democrat, in the 2018 election with 62 percent of the vote.

Chippendale has held the District 40 seat, representing Foster, Glocester, and western Coventry, for five terms, and is running for his sixth.

This year, Democrat Linda Nichols, a 27-year Glocester resident, is taking on Chippendale after losing her campaign for Glocester Town Council in 2018.

Republican David Place will run unopposed for his seat as House District 47 state representative, representing Glocester and Burrillville. Place defeated incumbent Cale Keable, a Democrat, in 2018, earning 61.8 percent of the vote. Keable was removed from his position as House Judiciary Chairman days before the November 2018 general election after sexual harassment allegations were brought to light.

In Senate District 23, which covers portions of North Smithfield, Burrillville and Glocester, first-term Republican incumbent Jessica de la Cruz will face off against Democrat Paul Roselli, a Burrillville resident who lost in the Democratic primary in 2018.